The Official Athletics Website Of The Waverly Wolverines



By: Tim Taylor | Waverly Athletics | June 2, 2021 | Photo courtesy Tim Taylor


HORSEHEADS — The Waverly boys golf team played through sporadic rain at the IAC Large School championship tournament at Soaring Eagles Golf Course here Wednesday.

Jack Knight recorded a 101 on the par-71 layout to edge out Liam Traub and Davis Croft for the Wolverines' top spot, leading the team to fifth place in the seven-team event. Traub shot 104 and Croft carded a 106.

Hunter Elton rounded out the team scoring with a 118 to give Waverly a 429 team score.

Declan Murphy and Aidan Westbrook contributed non-scoring rounds of 124 and 125, respectively.

The tournament endured a steady rainfall a little over an hour after tee-off, then the players had to deal with sporadic light rain throughout the remainder of their rounds.

Lansing's AJ Prudence scored a 76 to claim medalist honors and lead the Bobcats to the team title with a 350 total.

Whitney Point's Holden Maslin (82) nipped teammate Trystan Layton via a back nine tie-breaker for the runner-up spot, and SVEC's Jacob Banks (85) took fourth via tie-breaker over Lansing's Hunter Baughan. The next five were Dryden's Connor Smith (86), Lansing's Tyler Kirk (89), Dryden's Patrick O'Neill (90), Whitney Point's Logan Kenny (90) and SVEC's Taylor Brock (96).

North Large School regular season champ Whitney Point was second at 354 and South Large School regular season champ SVEC took third at 385. Dryden was fourth (396), followed by the Wolverines, Newark Valley (472) and Elmira Notre Dame (478).


First Team
MVP — Jacob Banks, SVEC (4.4)
Tyler Brock, SVEC (5.8)
Nate Murray, ND (8.0)
Jackson Potter, ND (12.0)
Nathan Gillette, SVEC (12.8)
Jack Knight, Waverly (13.0)
Tyler Greeno, SVEC (13.2)

Second Team
Joey Marsh, SVEC (14.2)
Aidan Westbrook, Waverly (15.0)
Davis Croft, Waverly (15.5)
Liam Traub, Waverly (15.8)
Shawn Deer, Newark Valley (16.0)
Hunter Elston, Waverly (19.8)


Kylie Rejman, Southern Cayuga (96.93)
Trystan Layton, Whitney Point (96.27)
Zach Nichols, Tioga (95.5)
Adam Finn, Union Springs (93.94)
Owen Overheiser, Southern Cayuga (96.93)
Steven Sherman, Southern Cayuga (96.93)
Jacob McCarty, Southern Cayuga (96.93)
Kalib Manning, Groton (93.04)
Nick Thurston, Southern Cayuga (92.65)
Dan Groth, Southern Cayuga (92.49)
Jackson Otis, Southern Cayuga (92.38)
AJ Prudence, Lansing (90.61)