The Official Athletics Website Of The Waverly Wolverines



By: Tim Birney | Waverly Athletics | January 22, 2022 | Photo courtesy Kyle Ackland


WAVERLY — Senior Kaden Wheeler, and juniors Oscar Williams, Ryan Clark, and Jerrell Sackett, who was named the meet MVP, wrote their names into the record books in broad strokes here Saturday afternoon at the Wolverine Swimming & Diving Invite.

The foursome also qualified for States in all three relay events.

Wheeler, Williams, Sackett, and Clark opened the meet with the first record-setting performance of the day, winning the 200-yard medley relay in a time of 1:39.23 to break a 23-yard-old school record.

The relay not only broke a school record, it established a new pool record, and a new meet record. The time is currently the 11th fastest in the state this year.

The previous Waverly mark, set by Josh Hogan, Dave Frodsham, Ben Fell, and Bret Gillan in 1999, was 1:40.05.

Later in the meet, the same foursome established new school, pool, meet, and IAC records in the 200-yard freestyle with a first-place time of 1:27.61, breaking a 10-year-old school record by nearly two seconds.

It is also currently the fastest time in the 200 free relay in the state this season.

The foursome eclipsed the previous mark of 1:29.51, set in 2012 by James Rynone, Zach Rynone, John Hallett, and Jeff Mastrantuono.

Wheeler, Williams, Sackett, and Clark wrote their name in the record books for the third time in the meet-closing 400-yard freestyle relay, breaking another 23-yard-old record with a first-place time of 3:15.2, which currently ranks as the second-fastest time in the event in the state this season.

The relay once again established new school, pool, meet, and IAC records, eclipsing the previous mark of 3:18.58 set in 1999 by Pat Fell, Josh Hogan, Bret Gillan, and Ben Fell.

On top of all that, Sackett’s split time in the 400 free relay qualified him for states in the 100-yard freestyle. And, his split time of 21.27 seconds in the 200 free relay, broke the pool record in the 50-yard freestyle. Current RIT standout Mike Atanasoff set the previous mark of 21.29 seconds in 2019.

Individually, Oscar Williams registered the only win for the Wolverines, clocking in at 2:06.44 in the 200-yard IM.

Sackett finished second in the 50-yard free in a time of 21.48 seconds, and Clark was fifth in 22.62 seconds. Corning standout Ryan McNutt, who will swim at Penn State next season, won the event in 21.44 seconds.

Wheeler finished second in the 100-yard butterfly in a time of 53.97 seconds.

Sophomore Liam Wright finished fourth in the 200-yard freestyle in 1:59.95. He also finished fourth in the 500-yard freestyle in a time of 5:32.10, and 8th-grader Finn Williams was 12th in 6:22.25.

Junior Sheldon Huddleston finished 12th in the 100-yard freestyle in a time of 59.09 seconds.

Waverly returns to action Friday at Watkins Glen.


About the Author

Tim Birney Author Bio

Tim Birney

Tim Birney is the founder / owner of River Road Media Group. He was born and raised in the Valley, graduating from Waverly High School in 1984.

Birney earned an Associate's Degree in Journalism from SUNY Morrisville in 1986 and a Bachelor's Degree in Journalism / Public Relations from Utica College of Syracuse University in 1988. He began his newspaper career at The Daily Review in Towanda in 1989, before moving on to The Evening Times in 1995. He spent more than 10 years at the Times, the last four as Managing Editor.

River Road Media Group includes Valley Sports Report (launched Aug. 10, 2009), Tioga County (NY) Sports Report (Aug. 13, 2018), and Northern Tier Sports Report (Aug. 31, 2020). Southern Tier Sports Report is set to launch in 2021.